Princess Leia

DSCN2661

We actually did it.

We got a pet rat! Her name of course, is Princess Leia. She took to me instantly. My fiance and daughter picked her name. We only got one rat. Why? Well, after visiting 3 different pet stores we finally found one with a female. Problem? They only had one female. She’s only a couple months old. She’s been here for about 4 days now and is getting more and more comfortable with us. Since she’s a singleton, I try to make sure we interact with her as much as possible. She’s quite shy. We got her some toys and wheels but she has yet to touch them and she keeps to herself, all curled up in her log unless we take her out. It does make me nervous after reading about pet rats. I really think she needs a rat friend. The woman at the pet store said she had plenty pet rats in her lifetime and she always had one at a time. At the moment, I am chalking up her chill behavior to her adjusting – or it could be her personality. They say girls are active but she doesn’t move much.

I think I’m going to get her a friend. I’ll have to search around for another female. Apparently they are hard to come by around here. All the stores carried males.

She is curious.
She makes a mess of her cage. Always flipping her water and taking her food out of the food bowl and into her log. She loves to be scratched on her cheeks and cuddle up close to you. She’s really cute. I seriously never thought the day would come where I said I owned a pet rat, but here it is. I do. We do. The family rat.

Here’s to more adventures.

 

Leave a comment